Operation Christmas Child

by amandamaephotos

Samaritan’s Purse is an international relief organization that started Operation Christmas Child – a way to give children of extreme poverty or war stuck areas a chance to experience Gods love by receiving a Christmas package filled with goodies from a child or adult who cares about them. It is such an awesome experience to go out and buy some little trinkets and wrap them up in a shoe box for a little child who will be so impacted by what you have done for them. I would like to thank my Mother for participating in Samaritan’s Purse and encouraging my sisters, brother and I as kids, to give to children our age in a time when getting a gift seems impossible for them.

I encourage you to check out Operation Christmas Child and watch some of the videos showing the children receiving the boxes. It brought tears to my eyes and it makes it even more special to me, knowing that I was able to bring a smile to a little girls face.

You have between November 16-23 to find a drop off location in your city. I always did it through my church, but there are other locations and can be found by going to the website. There you can also get information on what to put in your boxes and what age groups you can pick. I picked up my pamphlet at Chick-Fil-A. They are receiving drop offs there as well.

DSC_7657

Here is what I did. Its so simple!

DSC_7612

I decided on an age group and when out and got the appropriate gifts for each one.

DSC_7022

Then I took two shoe boxes that, of course had a lot of…and

DSC_7030

….wrapped them up!

DSC_7632

This is the hardest part – wrapping the lid and box – separately.

DSC_7036

But its worth it!

DSC_7026

DSC_7015

Now its time to pack them up!

DSC_7624

I love this part!

DSC_7640

They ask that you donate at lease $7 to help out with shopping costs.

DSC_7651

Tape the age and gender of your child on the top of the box, secure it with a rubber band and your good to go!

Side note – Chick-Fil-A is offering a free sandwich if you drop your boxes off by the 10th.

DSC_7609

