photoshop fun

by amandamaephotos

I love learning new little tricks for photoshop. Here are a few that I have been using for some time now. Its super quick and easy once you do it a few times.

Here is an image straight out of the camera. No retouching. Its not a bad photo at all and I would use this just as it is, but the artistic side of me has to do something to almost every image. Its a bad habit and I should probably try and break that. It has good natural light and her face is well lit, which is perfect. Now I will show you what I did to make a few changes.


Here they are side by side so you can see the change. What I did was lighten the image slightly. Just enough so that when I added the darker vignette/edge burn it would give a slightly more dramatic feel. The light also helps to soften the image just enough, but still keeps it sharp.

Look at those eyes! I love it when people have photogenic eyes. Unlike me, but we wont go there, its a difficult subject.

Ok next step. Because I love eyes so much this is my favorite photoshop tip I’ve learned yet. And its so stinkin’ easy. Here is my version of a step by step eye enhancer. Yep thats right. It is a subtle little skill, but can bring out those eyes ever more than they already are.

I use photoshop cs4, but for the most part all the models are quite similar.
Step 1. Your image is ready. I don’t know why, but I love seeing images in photoshop.

Step 2. You will want to got our quick selection tool out and ready. Again I cant remember if the older models of cs have this particular tool, but any selection tool will work.

Step 3. Select both eyes like so. Try and get it as precise as you can.

Step 4. Leaving the eyes selected, you will need to refine the edges just a bit. Go to select>refine edge

Step 5. Oooh creepy. Using the different options, play around with the sliders and make a nice soft edge on those eyeballs. I like to extend the contrast out a little from the eyes.

Step 6. While the eyes are still selected you are going to go to filter>sharpen>smart sharpen.

Step 7. This is the last step! Here is where you get to play around with the eyes. By using the sliders you can adjust how you would like the eyes to look. Just be careful not to over do it. Make it look natural. But, then it is all up to you and your style, so have fun!

And here you go. Just a slight change to an already great image. The internet quality here isn’t the  greatest and it is a little hard to see the eye change. Its there though, I assure you!

