A good year. [2010]

by amandamaephotos

2010 is going to go down as my favorite year since living in Virginia. I’ve been able to meet so many amazing people who have impacted my life greatly. It’s had its ups and downs, but that’s what makes you stronger and wiser. Right? I thought that’s what I’ve heard. Life would plain be boring without them.
I would like to thank all my lovely clients and “fans”? who have given me the courage to move forward with my passion. I’ve taken risks and failed, many times, but in the end they have made me better at what I do. I can’t tell you how excited I am about this new year and all the new risks that will be taken. Ahh! It’s going to be amazing!

Now for some of my favorites. Instead of sticking with just photos, I thought I’d throw in some other things. Its extremely random, but it’s what came to mind. Bear with me.

Favorite Photo(s)
These are in no particular order.

#1
Miss super cutie Caroline. This is her not wanting her picture taken. So, we played a little game of peek-a-boo and I won! Ha, and she thought she could beat me. Love the couch,  her peeping blue eyes and her adorable little self. See the full family post here.

#2
November 20th. It was a glorious day. I attended a my first wine festival with a great friend. We danced, tasted wine (of course), bonded and ate sushi. To me this photo represents life, freedom, happiness, friendship and good times. Photo credit – Stephan Sika


#3
Ahh and the glorious Gwynne. This magnificent shoot, which I still have not posted, was such a joy. I called Gwynne one day and asked her to be my fabulous fall model and she was immediately up for the challenge, or not so much of a challenge for her modeling shills. It all came together last minute, as most of my shoots do, (I work better that way) and we were both quite happy with the outcome. I will do my best to post the rest of the lovelies as asap. New Years resolution in the works – be a better blogger.

#4
And the awesome couple award goes to, Tim and Nicole! *crowd cheers* Seriously, love this couple, as I said so before in their post. Why do I love this photo? Well it took a million tries but we finally got it! With the help of our friend Gwynne, who is an expert in the art of ‘jumping for pictures’. Beach, sunrise, morning, friends. What more is there to love?

#5
I’m going to pull another beach picture. Taken at Jockeys Ridge in SC. This was probably a snap and go pictures. I always like the unplanned photos. Does that tell you a little something of my character? I don’t know, I’m still trying to figure that out. Anyway, love the kite, there were many flying that day. The sky was so blue and the sand so.. brown? Well it made my desktop background so it is definitely a favorite.

#6
My beautiful Grandmother, may she rest in peace. Even though this is technically a 2009 photo, she passed away this year so this image resurfaced and was re-edited. She left behind a legacy. If you didn’t catch it the first time, here it is. I just reread it and cried. Still crying. I’m sick and wont be able to celebrate the New Year, emotions are running high.

#7
Bet you didn’t know I had a model for a sister, did you? Well if you are a follower of any of my work, then you already know this. Pretty much every time I see Anna we have a shoot. “Back in the day“, spring break, summer vacation, and Christmas 2010 which had not been posted yet. This image was from the lollipop session I had with both my sisters. Super fun. This is one of my favorites of Anna. Why? I mean just look at her!

#8
Is it very bad that I have posted TWO pictures with me in it? I don’t want you thinking I’m conceited or something. I’m not, honestly. If you want to know your photographer, then your learning a little more about her. Right? Okay. Well I had some lessons from our friend Gwynne. We were on the beach, not a care in the world and completely and utterly FREE! I’m a free bird folks. Love letting the wind kiss my heals. Also didn’t now I could bend this way, learn something new every day. Also found muscles I never know I had. Think my neck was out for a week. 🙂 Photo credit goes to the fabulous Dina Johnston


Favorite Song

Home by Edward Sharp and the Magnetic Zeros
the runners up
Kids by MGMT
Generator 1st Floor by Freelance Whales

Favorite moment
The way I felt after I finished my first 10k run. Quite positive I had a runners high. If you have never experienced this, you are missing out. It’s by far the best feeling. I think the energy of the other 35,00 runners had something to do with it. This is close to qualifying for the favorite day award.

Favorite Thrift Shop Find
My $5 shoulder bag. I use this thing all. the. time.
See even the horse likes it.

Favorite Food
I don’t know if its my favorite, but I have a new found love for Sushi. Only vegetable sushi. This is the only time I am completely vegetarian. Okay, except for the California Roll, I can eat that.

Who’s ready for the ending of an old and the beginning of a new? I am! Although, finishing my year with my head in a basin was not what I had in mind. Okay the stomach bug isn’t that bad yet, but I’d much rather be out on the town with my ladies. I talk about taking risks, maybe I should finish off 2010 with a big one. The risk of finding myself out on the dance floor with the strongest urge to hurl. Or, maybe I will just stay home.

Happy New Year!!

With love, Amanda

 

 

