Kampala

by amandamaephotos

I have been getting the grand tour around Kampala all week. Definitely a lovable city. That is, if you can get past the dust, car exhaust, burning garbage, and sometimes potent smell of dead fish. I’ve got the garbage and fish under control, its the dust in the eyes and headache causing exhaust that can be a bit trying at times. I’m told you don’t notice it after a while. I love learning about Uganda. The people. The culture. I’ve always wanted a longer period of time to experience Africa, but I have already gotten so much in just this week. It is wonderful.

I couldn’t have been blessed with a better host family. Fred and Nicolette are two people who love the lord and serving his people, and they have the gift of hospitality. Five months ago they adopted a little girl named Angel. She is just that, with a little spunk. They also have a live in house helper, (common in Uganda) Agnes, who is a phenomenal cook! They tell me I don’t eat enough, and that I need to stop worrying about my figure. So…I eat more. Agnes has two sweet boys, Joel and Jovan (not sure of that spelling). All three of those kids have THE greatest laughs. You know, those great belly laughs. We have tickle wars about every night.

I have lost track of days. Really. Still stuck in US time because I am one day behind here.

Tuesday I flew in in the morning and was fortunate enough to be able to rest the whole afternoon and get a good nights sleep.

Wednesday I did a little physical therapy with the kids from the School for the Physically Handicapped. That is where SOI (here it’s called SOM, Sports Outreach Ministry) has it’s Kampala office. Then a bit of turing around the city.

Thursday I met another American. Her name is Samantha. We both have pretty much the same last names (Farrell/Farwell), our first names are kind of similar too. We are both the 2nd oldest in our families of 4. There are 3 boys and 1 girl in hers and 3 girls and 1 boy in mine. This is both of ours 3rd trip back to Uganda. We are both staying for an extensive period of time. We both have brown hair and some children have asked if we are sisters, but that may only be because all Mzungu look a like to them.There are more similarities that I won’t bore you with. We visited the first slums that day and co-taught a tiny school there. We were totally unprepared but managed to keep their attention for a time, and then completely butcher the pronunciation of their names when calling attendance. The other teachers really just wanted a good laugh, I’m sure of it. Then we watched a few fubol games, that’s part of SOM’s outreach program, and hung out with lots of kids. We got questions like, why is your skin clear, or what is wrong with your skin, at our freckles. I was asked why I had fur on my arm. Uh, that’s arm hair and we all have it. Kids.

Friday we (Samantha and I) climbed on a bus with the SOM soccer/futbol/football team and drove two and a half hours to a remote village and did outreach. They make sure that the villages where they do outreach, have an established church so that they (the church) can follow up with anyone if any of the villagers come to Christ. Very well done SOM. We may or may not have won, 5-0, but what mattered most was that we were able to present the Gospel to many.

Saturday we went to another slum and saw the ministering they are doing there. It’s pretty amazing. I have two great stories coming in another post.

Till then, here are a few snaps from the week!

The home of Fred and Nicolette

In case you were wondering, there are beautiful puffy clouds here in Africa too.

Jovan on the left and Angel on the right, washing their cups. Angel told me that about 5 times, it her cute little accent.

A few of our pupils.

Some sweet kids that came up to us when we were watching the football team train. Mzungu, Mzungu. Interpretation. White person. It’s one of the 5ish words I know.

Taught them pound it. Tried to teach them pound it – explosion, but it didn’t really catch. They just got this really confused look on their faces. Why am I waving goodbye to the Mzungu?

Speak english. No problem, got it.

Futbol! Or as we Americans call it soccer. I accidently asked one of the kids if they played soccer.

I think I need to start watching futbol more often. Or maybe just teams I know. It’s fun. They all have such skill.

We put stickers on their faces, as you can see, and they did not take them off. No matter where they were.

That guy has a great smile.

The sunset over Kampala is pretty spectacular, even from the back seat of a car.

Much love,
AM

