Ikotos

by amandamaephotos

Greetings from South Sudan!

Life here is very different from the business of Kampala. Ali and I flew in by plane. Definitely the easiest and fast mode of transportation in to Ikotos. I was completely taken back by the beauty here. I can’t even begin to explain. It takes my breath away. Ikotos sits in a valley between two mountain ranges. Mountains captivate me. These mountains captivate me. I wish pictures could capture the majesty. Everything is so green and lush. Being here during the rainy season is such a blessing. Not only is it so much cooler, but the beauty is so spectacular.

It was a bit of a shock for me. Coming from my fast paced week in Kampala to here. Its like going from NYC to a tiny town in the country with no traffic lights. I probably don’t see more than 10 cars in a day. It is peaceful though and it has given me a lot of time to reflect and read. God knew I needed this. I’m sure of it. ๐Ÿ™‚

Monday was their independence day. The celebrating started Sunday night and didn’t really end until Wednesday. Who needs a sound machine when you have drums, whistles and singing going on all night long. They had an all day celebration on Monday with speakers, dancing, singing and more. I got super lucky (I’m sure it was because I was a white visitor) and was able to stand inside the square where everything was happening and take pictures. It was a wonderful experience!

Today we made a trip to village I don’t know how to spell, so I’m not going to even try it. There is some paperwork that Scott and Ali needed to get done and it looks as though we will be spending the weekend here. The road here was a little rough. Ok, it was quite bad. But, it was so much fun! For me, the passenger. ๐Ÿ˜‰ We only got stuck once. It was a 60 mile trip that took a little over 3 hours. The fastest we hit was probably about 40 mph on the “good roads”. Those still felt like you were driving on rumble strips with potholes thrown in every 2 feet. If you go fast enough they don’t hurt as much. There were 4 of us in the back seat. The more people you have squished in there the less you bounce around. I cracked my head on the lady’s head to my right and on the car window to my left, but I don’t have a concussion so its all good. I can’t wait for the ride back to Ikotos! Really. I can’t. Really, I’m not kidding.

Just a little celebration.

The woman here wear such beautiful vibrant colors!

We get children visiting every day. Just hanging out with these sweet girls.

This was one of the easier holes to drive through. Nothing this truck couldn’t handle. ๐Ÿ˜‰

 

Much love to you all!!
Amanda

